top of page

Interview with Raider's Captain


Captain of Reading Raiders Andy Parr

 

IT TAKES MORE THAN GUTS to lead a team . Known for being vocal on the pitch: Andy Parr has the task of captaining the Raiders for their first season competitng in the London and South East Championship .

Having won their first home victory of the season against Sussex Merlin's last Saturday our Communications Officer, Manon Jones, was keen to find out more about what it takes to lead a rugby league team and what sort of challenges come with the role of Captain.

1. How did you first become involved in the club?

"Word of mouth. Someone down my union club told me there was rumours of a team being started in Reading, and being a northern lad I couldn't keep away."

2. What is the key to captaincy and what sort of challenges are there in leading a team ?

"Upping your game for me. Because all eyes are on you from your first tackle to the last ball carry. If I can do the basics right, I feel like I've done it right."

3. Which do you prefer playing league or union and why?

"Hahaha the age old question! Making me choose is harsh! If I'm honest, I love both codes! Cop out I know, but both have their merrits, and as I was told at a young age playing one improves the other! "

4. Which team are you looking forward to playing against and why?

"If I'm honest I really want to get our hands on the Kennet cup. That's not a fixture we have this year, but it's the one I want the most. I want that cup back where it belongs!! "

Parr and Sussex's Merlin Captain Debating The Results Of The Coin Toss

 

5. Growing up who was your favourite rugby player and why?

"Andy Farrell. The glorious 'Norweb' days down Wigan rugby league when we were untouchable. 7 league wins, and 6 cup wins! And he was instrumental in them all!! As a kid was amazing to watch!"

6. What training drill do you dread the most?

"Fitness. Simple as that. I'll throw myself into most things, with varying levels of success, but fitness is hard when you're as fat as me!"

7. What are your hopes for the team this season?

"This season, I'd like a strong if not undefeated home record. Maybe off the back of that, stay off the bottom of the league!! Give us something to build on going forward."

8. What advice would you give to new players starting league?

"Don't be scared, and don't hold back. If you hold back you'll get hurt! The harder you play, the safer you'll be!"

9. If you could create your dream team who would you have and why?

.

"Far to hard I'll be here all night!! "

If you would like to get involved with the Raiders on or off the pitch, email readingroyalsrlfc@gmail.com

To keep up to date, check out our website: http://readingroyalsrlfc.wixsite.com/readingraidersrlfc, follow us on Twitter (@ReadingRRLFC), like us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/ReadingRLFC/ and Instagram: readingraiders.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Tags
bottom of page